The Castanea Community

If you want to go fast, go alone. If you want to go far, go together.

The Castanea Fellowship is nurtured by a larger community of support and partnership. This includes our powerhouse Steering Committee, as well as this phenomenal set of advisors. Advisors are a set of national partners with diverse expertise who serve as Community Advisors and on the Selection Committee. We also value our connection to alumni of the W.K. Kellogg Foundation Food and Community Fellowship. We are grateful to these incredible advisors and their guidance to the Castanea Fellowship.

selection committee

Our Selection Committee, drawn from diverse fields, are an inspiring group of leaders. They are thought leaders, connectors, and bridge builders. They have driven change in meaningful ways and have played key roles to further justice, equity, and health in our food system. We are honored to have such an esteemed Selection Committee to help us select the 2019 Fellows.
Full Selection Committee will be announced in January, so stay tuned and learn more below!

Joe Brooks
Senior Fellow, PolicyLink
Dara Cooper
Organizing Director, 
National Black Food and Justice Alliance
Haile Johnston
Co-Founder and Chief Development Officer, Common Market
Navina Khanna
Director, HEAL Food Alliance
Dwayne Marsh
Vice President, Race Forward
Brett Ramey
Director, The Doris Duke Conservation Scholars Program

community advisors

Our Community Advisors infuse the Fellowship with on-the-ground perspectives and specialized expertise we utilize for curriculum development. They help us recruit, serve as concept-builders, provide guidance, and share their time to strengthen our work. We are filled with gratitude to have such a dynamic, growing, set of Community Advisors. Learn more about them below!

Dara Cooper
Organizing Director, 
National Black Food and Justice Alliance
Alex Goldman
Program Associate, Woodcock Foundation
Oran Hesterman
President/CEO, Fair Food Network
Julian Mocine-McQueen
Co-Founder, The Million Person Project
Simran Noor
Principal, NOOR Consulting
Hilde Steffey
Acting Director, Food and Farm Communications Fund
Josaphine Stevenson
Foundation Program Specialist, CCOF
Mailee Walker
Executive Director, Claneil Foundation
Elizabeth Washburn
Principal, Draper Richards Kaplan Foundation


Our Alumni will be connected to an extraordinary group of alumni from the W.K. Kellogg Food and Community Fellowship. Stay tuned as we share more about our Alumni corner or contact us to learn more.


Join the numerous foundations, nonprofit, and business leaders in this multi-sector collaborative committed to shaping an equitable future for food. Grants, gifts, and individual donations are welcome.